Nintendo Superstore Experts You Can Trust! »
Shipping FASTEST FREE Shipping *orders over $50! View Details »
Return to Sonic & All-Star Racing Transformed - Wii U
Sort By:
Page of 2
Click to see more items


 
 
Great Game! March 23, 2014
Reviewer: Unique B. Washington  
This is probably the best multi user game out for the Wii U at the moment. We played it for hours and hours

Was this review helpful?

 
 
Best game so far. January 13, 2014
Reviewer: Iris Lukeman  
I'll admit it: I don't like Mario Kart because the game is basically designed to "cheat" for the worst players. That is, whoever is doing the worst gets the best power-ups. Not this game! I've received power-ups (nearly useless to Awesome) in any position of the race with All-Stars racing. The races are a bit more intense, and the transformation from boat to airplane to cars is a great bonus over tradition (and "kart") racing games. This game pretty much has it all - it feels a lot more fair, great maps with plenty of hidden secrets, lots of stuff to unlock, various play modes...all in all, it's great. Highly recommended - can't wait until it has competition with other Wii U racing games.

Was this review helpful?

 
 
Best kart racer in years January 6, 2014
Reviewer: Runner1845  

This game snuck up on me. I expected a decent at best attempt to mimic the Mario Kart franchise, one demo later, my mind was completely changed. Having now played the game for well over 15 hours I can say this is the best kart racing game I have played in a looong time. Maybe ever. But then it's not completely a kart racer, it's like a mix of arcade and kart racing goodness and it's beautiful. The game offers so much content, so many unlockables and excellent multiplayer that this game is easily a must buy. The cheaper price point practically begs you to give this game a go. It's one of the best games at launch for the Wii U.

Wii U Difference:

I'm sure some of you want to know more about how this Wii U game is different from the other consoles. Well there are a few additions that only add to the package. First most is when playing single player your Gamepad becomes a map to keep track of other players. Along with becoming a map, it can be used to view behind your racer as well as an item cam view to see if your target was taken out. Another fun use of the Gamepad is the ability to play with a fifth player locally. Also included only on the Wii U are some simple mini-games, nothing mind blowing but fun all the same.

Was this review helpful?

 
 
Mario Kart for the Wii U January 4, 2014
Reviewer: Ryan  
I am surprised how much fun this game is and that it is priced less than most Wii U games at the moment. If you like Mario Kart, you'll probably like this game, although it is a little more "serious" than your typical Mario Kart title. I also like being able to play this on the GamePad while my friend plays on the TV so we don't have to play in split-screen mode. There is also online play, but it seems at times that it is unavailable as I'm not able to connect to the lobby. Hopefully this will be resolved over time.

Was this review helpful?

 
 
Lots of fun! January 3, 2014
Reviewer: David L. Corkery  

Lots of fun!

If you're hesitant on getting this game, try the demo from the Nintendo eShop. I download the full game from the eShop shortly after playing the demo, and I loved it!

If you like racing games, I highly recommend this one, especially if you're into Mario Kart.

Was this review helpful?

 
 
Better Than Mario Kart? January 1, 2014
Reviewer: Katniss Everdean  

I'm not a huge fan of racing games as they tend to get monotonous. I do enjoy Mario Kart, however. The multiplayer is great. The items and tracks are awesome, and there's a huge roster of characters. I thought that franchise would always be my favorite...until I played this game! You can play up to 5 racers: 4 using wiimotes and 1 using the gamepad. The person using the gamepad races using that screen, which can tire your eyes out a bit. If you're playing 1 player, however, the gamepad becomes a map while you use the TV as your screen. The game is fun because it has a huge variety of things to do, even in career mode. And you can play career mode with multiple players, which is great because it gets challenging. There are races, battle races (which involve you surviving an onslaught of items), drift challenges, boost challenges, versus races (you against a few computer players, one after the other), etc. There's also a large roster of characters from several different Sega franchises like Sonic, Jet Set Radio (a nice throwback!), Super Monkey Ball, Crazy Taxi, Golden Axe, Nights, Shinobi, Skies of Arcadia, etc.

The races themselves are fun and challenging. On some tracks, your car will turn into a boat or an airplane (hence the "racing transformed"). This is one of the biggest differences from Mario Kart. Mario Kart 7 on the 3DS is really the only game to implement other forms of transportation, and it just skims the surface, really. Your car gets jets to power through a small amount of water, and you have a parachute that allows you to glide for a bit. It's not really the same, though. The thing I like about Sonic racing is that the computers don't feel cheap. In Mario Kart, if you have the lead, 9 times out of 10, you get hit with that blasted blue shell! And you only get seem to get banana peels. Only the people at the back of the race get Bullet Bill or good items. The items in Sonic racing seem more varied. I've gotten All Star (somewhat like Bullet Bill, except you can control your character and it's much easier to steer) when I was in 2nd and 3rd places before. The races are challenging, however, especially on hard, but the computers don't feel cheap. I've even seen them drive off the track accidentally, so they're not perfect like they are in Mario Kart. The only issue I have is that it's very easy to get stuck on walls which can screw up a race. I also seem to get stuck on things during the airplane ring challenges. I'm not sure if this is a glitch or not. I hope they release a patch soon, if it is. Because once you get stuck, it's difficult to get out. The only other complaint I have is that I wish there were more items as there are only a few, though they are all pretty unique.

Overall, this is one of my favorite Wii U games, and it's cheaper than most of them! Wii U owners should definitely pick it up and give it a try!

Was this review helpful?

 
 
Much better on Wii U January 1, 2014
Reviewer: Latasha Tameka Patel  
This game is very fun! I downloaded the DEMO on the Xbox 360 and I wasn't 100% sure what I thought of it. I tried it for Wii U and I changed my viewpoint on this game! The Wii U version is the best of all the consoles! The thing to me that makes this version the best is the controls, and being able to play on the Gamepad. As far as controls, they're tighter than the X360/PS3 versions and that REALLY helps considering it can be a touchy game at times. The graphics on the game are a little disappointing, but that's for every version of the game. Overall, a must buy for the Wii U!

Was this review helpful?

 
 
Surprisingly awesome December 31, 2013
Reviewer: Iggy Stein  

Mario Kart clones are not exactly difficult to come by. The formula seems deceptively simple: take a bunch of cartoon characters, slap them in crazy vehicles, throw together a dozen or so zany tracks ranging from silly to downright psychedelic, throw in some cookie-cutter weapons and rubber-banding AI and call it a day. Despite the simplicity of the formula, few games manage to capture the magic of the original Mario Kart series. However, it turns out that when Nintendo does make the inevitable Wii U Mario Kart it had better bring its A game, because All-Stars Racing is an excellent title that manages to combine recognizable characters and levels, great controls, and just enough of a unique twist in the form of the different vehicle types to keep it from feeling like a wholesale Mario Kart ripoff. This game controls really well. The karts handle smoothly and the drift-and-boost mechanic here feels spot-on. The boats handle similarly to the karts, but the addition of waves makes getting from point A to point B more of a challenge. The planes also generally handle well, but the controls are a bit twitchy especially in closed-in areas where a small movement of the joystick is liable to send you bouncing off walls and careening into obstacles. Track design is generally superb, and does a great job of representing some of Sega's lesser-known franchises. You'll race through a Panzer Dragoon-inspired canyon, a Shinobi ninja temple, a full-on airship battle from Skies of Arcadia, a lava cave from Golden Axe and many more awesome locations. I can't speak to the other versions of this game, but everything looks really nice on the Wii U, with only the occasional hint of slowdown when the action heats up. Seeing these settings so lovingly recreated really makes you want to see Sega resurrect some of these series with modern graphics. Unlike in Mario Kart, this game is not afraid to mix things up between laps. Temples crumble around you, space ships dock with each other, sections of track get blown up or flooded, forcing you to take different routes for each of the three laps. On several courses you spend most of your third lap in plane mode because the track has been completely destroyed underneath you. All of this makes the races feel a lot more exciting and dynamic than the standard three-times-around-and-you're-done races from Mario Kart. Despite all the action going on around you, the courses are usually well enough marked that it's pretty clear where you need to go next. There are still the occasional moments where you run into an invisible wall or get turned around in the action, but they're mercifully few and far between. Weapons are for the most part standard fare, but they do feel better balanced than those of recent Mario Karts. You get fireworks and ice shots which act like green shells, a drone that acts like a red shell, a blowfish that acts like a banana peel, a star that makes you invincible and faster for a short time. There is also the hot rod, which gives you an extra speed boost and can be discharged in a fiery burst that damages surrounding racers, but can also overheat and explode if you wait too long. All-Stars' answer to the infamous blue shell is the swarm, which drops a cluster of giant bees in the track in front of the leading player. Unlike the blue shell, however, the swarm can be successfully dodged (though this is pretty tricky when it ends up in a narrow section of track). The weapon selection makes the gameplay feel much more skill-based and less like a succession of cheap shots that punish the player in first place for racing well. Gameplay-wise, there is a world tour mode where you unlock characters and tracks by completing challenges as well as the standard GP and online modes. Going through and getting bronze medals is pretty easy, but bumping things up even to normal difficulty really boosts the challenge. There is enough here to unlock that you'll be playing for a long time.

The best thing about this title? It's one of the cheapest of the Wii U launch titles at $40 and easily offers better gameplay and more value than many titles that sell for $60. Do yourself a favor and pick this up. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful?

 
 
Mario karts rival December 27, 2013
Reviewer: Robert Louis Tom  
This game is awesome,obviously sega took a note from mario kart 7 but they made it better.hopefully nintendo's new racer can top this. Overall this game does not disappoint. Endless missions,fun arcade racing. This is a must have for your video game library.


Was this review helpful?

 
 
Great gameplay on the Wii U! December 26, 2013
Reviewer: Antonio J  
This game looks and plays great! Major bonus for the option to turn on "motion control" which help my wee little ones in controlling their favorite race characters. The motion control option allows the race vehicles to be controlled by turning the regular Wii controller or the Wii U tablet. The races are fun and the scenery is really cool. We decided to buy the Wii U game after downloading and playing the demo version on our Wii U console. The old school gamer in me loves the old SEGA announcement when the game first starts up.

Was this review helpful?

   
  Click to see more items