Return to Mario Party 9 - Wii
Sort By:
Page of 2
Click to see more items


 
 
If you have a Wii, you need this game! April 2, 2012
Reviewer: Mike S  
This game is one of the best in my opinion. It is way better the Mario Party 8 as well.

Was this review helpful?

 
 
Little disappointed March 30, 2012
Reviewer: KB  
I ordered this as I have almost all of the other Mario Party games. I figured that since it had been so long since the last one for the wii, it would be excellent. While the graphics are great, it is a downgrade from the last few MPs. The games are primarily done with the direction pad and buttons rather than using the functionality of the wii mote. In addition, the game is more based on luck than skill. It is still entertaining; just don't expect the level of the last few MPs. I think this one is more suited to smaller children (I write this as an adult that fully loves the other games).

Was this review helpful?

 
 
Dumbed down reboot March 26, 2012
Reviewer: GrimBeaver  
Having played every previous Mario Party this is a disappointment. This is a dumbed down reboot with very little strategy involved. A lot of this game comes down to luck of the dice roll. There's no more coins period. Many (if not most) of the concepts from the old games are completely gone. The boards which the car rides on are largely linear with stars periodically along the path which go to the current player when they are passed. The casual gamers who were playing with us commented that unlike previous games the game does nothing to balance it for a mix of normal gamers and casual gamers like previous versions did. The minigames so far have been decent but as others have stated the motion controls are mostly gone, even pointing games are rare. For most of them you are holding the controller side ways like a classic gamepad. Also there seems to be more games which are just luck of the draw then actual game play.
If you and everyone you know is a casual player and you do not have a love of the old games by all means pick this up. But if you enjoyed playing the older games with a mix of friends you should probably pass on this one.

Was this review helpful?

 
 
Mario Party 9 March 20, 2012
Reviewer: Gern277  
At first I didn't think that this product was going to be a fun wii game, but as I was waiting for it to be released found a website that showed little parts of the game. As more previews of the game got released I started to get excited. When I got this game I played a board with few mini-games and I loved it.

Was this review helpful?

 
 
5 stars for children under 10 March 19, 2012
Reviewer: R. McAdams  
Not bad, not as good as 1, 2, and 3 after playing Mario Party 9, though, I have to say that the adult players were disappointed.
PROS:
-Still fun (for all ages).
-Some genuine gems in the mini-games you shouldn't miss, if you are a fan of the series
-Kids will love it, and young kids can play fairly well on their own (your mileage may vary)
-Bright, colorful, cheerful
-Easy to play, quality game (no bugs, no glitches, quality Nintendo software)
-Cooperative play (for kids)
CONS:
-Strategy elements pretty much gone (will disappoint long-time, adult fans)
-Game controls for motion still lacking (also, no motion plus offered, or required)
-Only one trip through the board, on rails, very little control for the player
-Limited customization options for the game type you wish to play
-Limited number of mini-games played per each game session (they obviously wanted to speed up the time it takes to play a session)

Was this review helpful?

 
 
Fast, furious, and efficient fun for all ages. March 19, 2012
Reviewer: C. Angel "americanpride"  
My wife and I have been playing the Mario Party series since the beginning. Mario Party 2 and 3 are among my favorites. This is by far the best since those in my opinion. This game is the first in a long time that takes little time to setup a new game and the game keeps moving. I found that the GC renditions and MP 8 continued a trend of taking more time to accomplish less, which was not as fun for us. I'm surprised at the multiple reviews talking about no strategy and no items. It's true that there isn't a magic lamp that automatically gives you a star, nor an item that teleports you to another player, etc....but between the dice block choices, captain games, Boss games, reverse mini games, and many of the mini games you have a plethora of strategies you can employ. When the oldest two kids play by themselves, they are continuously cracking up and enjoying the game. The extras are fun too. I can't say enough about the changes being fresh and positive in every way.

Was this review helpful?

 
 
Best Yet! March 19, 2012
Reviewer: stacy0421  
I received this game and my son (6 years old) and I played it over the weekend. This is definitely my favorite MP yet! The graphics are beautiful and more detailed, the changes they made in the game make it so every time you play, it's different. There's a lot less of a chance of there being one dominating player in the game. We played all the boards and opened up both the DK board and the Bowser board. Totally worth the price, perfect game for my son's age, not too hard and not too easy.

Was this review helpful?

 
 
Bah~ Waste of Money! March 18, 2012
Reviewer: beby2406 "beby2406"  
Very disappointing, the fact all the players go in the same car...lame...the mini stars concept...lame..Although the new mini games are cool, but still Mario Party 8 is way better!! DONT WASTE YOUR TIME!!!

Was this review helpful?

 
 
New Direction is Fun, March 17, 2012
Reviewer: N. Geist  
As a die-hard fan of the Mario Party series, I was disappointed when I first played this game. Your player moves with all the other players, coins and items have been done away with, the dice only rolls 1-6, you don't get to choose how many turns you play, and, most shockingly, you don't buy Stars to become the game-winner. I missed the original concept from the first 8 games.
That being said, once I decided to be a little more open-minded about the game itself, I realized that Mario Party 9 has plenty of merits on its own.
Longtime fans of this game might not be able to get past the differences in this version, and that's okay. It took awhile for me to warm up to this, too. But then I started realizing, despite my disappointment, I was having a LOT of fun playing this one with my friends, as well as when I played it by myself. It was hard for me to accept it, but I have to concede that this game is a step in the right direction.

Was this review helpful?

 
 
Different! But fun! March 17, 2012
Reviewer: Resse  
At first I hated that everyone has to be in the car but after playing a few rounds it seems to be alright. The mini games are slightly different and as another review said "similar to Wii party" The story line is the same but a little different with browser taking all the mini stars and instead you have bosses battle instead of just vs him all the time. The worlds are ok. With me and my sister we thought that it was great to want to play over and over again, maybe even better than MP8. So with this i Would say Very good job nintendo keep it up. Can't wait for the next mario party game.

Was this review helpful?

   
  Click to see more items