Return to Nintendo Selects: Animal Crossing: City Folk - Wii
Sort By:
Page of 1


 
 
Crazily and stupidly addictive June 3, 2011
Reviewer: Sara Smolinski  
Thank god I got this as a Christmas present. If I hadn't, I'd be bouncing off the walls all through the school day waiting to play this dumb game.
Why a dumb game? Well, the concept is amazingly simple. You live in a little town (mine was christined Jamaica by my little sister in honor of our upcoming trip to the actual island) in a little house. You can fish, dig for treasure, hunt bugs, and do favors for neighbors (all of which are cute little animals that vary depending on which type of town you ended up with). You have to pay off the mortgage for your house. You can chat it up with residents, visit the local museum, or go shopping. If that gets boring, you can always decorate your house with the seemingly unlimited amounts of rugs, wallpapers, and furniture. Sounds kinda redundant, huh? It's not.
What really makes this game fun? Three things. First of all, the detail in this game is amazing. The towns residents don't just interact with you, they interact with eachother. Several times a day I'll walk into an area to see one character whisper something to another, resulting in either one or both of them getting extremely angry (you can't talk to them while they're like this!) They'll also give eachother presents, and gossip behind eachother's backs. Also, if you share the town with another player (I share with my sister) the town's residents will tend to favor one of you over the other (e.g., a hippo named Lulu loves bragging to me about my sister, showing me her letters, and gushing about favors she did). Secondly, the town is bursting with surprises. You may start a conversation with a character only to have them suddenly give you a gift. New characters may appear, to move in or just visit. My favorite is a disgruntled mole that shows up and spazzes every time I restart the game. Because how would you feel if someone just started your whole world over again? Finally, the real time aspect of the game is great. On Sundays a warthog comes through the town selling turnips. On Saturday nights a guitar playing dog cranks out tunes. On holidays, there are celebrations (for example, I recently got a notice about a New Year's bash at the wishing well). Want to visit a resident? If it's past their bedtime, you're out of luck.
So it sounds like a kid's game? No way. It appeals to little ones (Preschoolers will adore the simple things, like shaking trees, collecting seashells, and moving furniture), grade-schoolers (the museum curator spews interesting facts, and it's always fun to interact with town residents), and teenagers and adults (there's a surprising amount of strategy involved!). What's also great is that you can never "beat" this game. Like The Sims, you basically play until you get sick of it.
I strongly reccomend this game to ANYONE of ANY AGE. Very addictive and endlessly fun, this game is worth your money!

Was this review helpful?

 
 
Good ole fashion fun May 2, 2011
Reviewer: Senor butter  
This game is fun down to the last weed you pull from the ground. I make the mistake of playing this for hours on end but the strange thing is you don't feel bad about doing so. I feel like that is the ultimate compliment for a vidgea game.

Was this review helpful?

 
 
It's the second life March 5, 2011
Reviewer: Ginny  
This game is so much fun! It's strange to think a game like this would be so enjoyable.

Basically you start your life in a new town with neighbors and all you have to do is live a second life as I like to put it. The neighbors are quirky and hilarious!

You start the first day in your new town working at the general shop for a greedy raccoon. All the people in this game are animals of some sort which only adds to the mood.

You get some basic tools like an axe, bug catching net, fishing rod, shovel etc.
You use these items to fill your collections, like your bug and fish collection. You can use the shovel to dig up the ground to find fossils, money and a lot of other stuff. You can design your town any way you like, and you can also design your house which is always fun! You can travel to other towns (only on the memory card) of your family member or friends. This was a disappointment because I'm the only one who plays Animal Crossing.

I haven't gotten any of the sequels to this game for DS but I hope they are as good as the original because it was a lot of fun and I've put in at least 200 hours into this game.

If you have some time to kill each day and you're a casual gamer then this game is just for you.

Was this review helpful?

 
 
great game February 12, 2011
Reviewer: Ryan J. Mickinak  
I am very pleased with the seller, this is an awesome game, I will buy from the seller again, and please have a good day.

Was this review helpful?

 
 
Who needs reality? February 8, 2011
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
Animal Crossing is not your average everyday video game. In Animal Crossing you play as yourself in a digital town that is populated by humanoid animals. There's no real end, and there is no story. There's just you, and errands to run, fish and bugs to catch, fossils to find, and letters to write. I'm not sure quite what it is, but I know I like it. If you start to play, chances are you'll have to play it every day, because you never know what you're going to miss. If the Sims seems a little too hardcore for you, I highly recommend Animal Crossing. But then, I highly recommend Animal Crossing to anyone. Once it gets its hooks into you, you'll never go another day without playing it.

Was this review helpful?

 
 
Animal Crossing review February 7, 2011
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
This is a fun game! Comes with old NES games as unlockables. I'd recommend the DS version though if you have a choice between the two.

Was this review helpful?

 
 
Fun, but gets boring after awhile January 15, 2011
Reviewer: Dwayne  
When you first play this game, it's really fun and is especially exciting with more than one player in the household. It's a multiplayer game but 2 people can't play at one time.

The characters are cute and at first, there's allot to do. Plant trees, clean up your town, go fishing, etc. It's really cool how the game is on the same time clock as you are. When it's dark outside, it's dark in the game as well. When it's winter, it's winter in the game two. It's cool how the seasons and everything lines up with reality.

The game can be repetitive and after awhile, get's boring. Once you've built your house as big as it can get and collected all the items you want, fished for every fish and caught every bug and found every fossil, there's really not much left to do except maintain your town by pulling weeds and planting flowers. Don't get me wrong, the game is really fun at first and considering that you can find it online for just a few dollars, it's definitely worth buying. Mine even came with a memory card, so that was a plus.

So go ahead and pick one up for a few dollars. It's worth a few bucks and will keep you entertained for awhile. Grab a game guide or look up some tips online and you'll have even more fun with it.

Was this review helpful?

 
 
Why are they so mean January 9, 2011
Reviewer: Bonnie X  
Well I Got the game because I thought it would have cute animals . Well If you call animals that call each other names , say you are lame , fight and just plain act rude. Then I guess this is the game for you . But I dont think small kids need to see game animals act so bratty . I would also like to know why so many of the girl animals seem so stuck up and obsessed with there looks ? I think the game was made by a guys . I also found it anoying that the store was closed so much of the time .
The game is O.K. but slow and my kids hated it . Also to the reviewer that said there 3 year old can play because the game was mostly icons . That is just not true you have to read all the time and write letters . But when you get letters back they will tell you that you are hard to under stand or you just are dumb. If you just want to kill time then play . But becareful they might hurt your feelings .

Was this review helpful?