Return to AM and PM Walking with Debbie Rocker (DVD)
Sort By:
Page of 1


 
 
OK, so she talks non-stop September 17, 2009
Reviewer: Sadie Lady  
I'm 58 and though a lot overweight, I've exercised off and on my whole life so not that physically unfit. I bought this DVD to try to get back into shape, again, and lose weight, again. I'm a serial exercise quitter--I get bored with one thing and move on to the next. Until you get used to it, it seems she's cuing way too soon. And yes, she doesn't count you down to the next move (except once). I keep the audio on low enough so I can hear Rocker but not too much of the music and just glance every so often at the screen to help me keep in time. I am rating this DVD 4 stars, because I actually LIKE that Rocker talks non-stop. What she's saying is some really positive stuff, about thinking of yourself as an athlete in training, and going into your day with self-respect and a can-do attitude. The workout is just enough to help get my metabolism moving. A great bonus: I sleep really well after I do the P.M. stint.

Was this review helpful?

 
 
One Step Away From Sleep or Yoga August 1, 2009
Reviewer: Shuggy Pie  
I'm new to walking for exercise, and thought this would be perfect, not intimidating. Well, the a.m walking is supposed to wake you up, and get you going, it was a level away from putting me to sleep! I never did get my heart rate up. The moves and the music were boring. She hardly ever gave a "count", so it was difficult to follow at times. The only great thing about this DVD is the scenery. If you're into yoga, you may like this DVD, otherwise look for something else.

Was this review helpful?

 
 
Not for me September 29, 2008
Reviewer: LH "Just Ducky!"  
This DVD was just too repetitive, marching, marching, marching. Mind you, I've done countless walking workouts using Leslie Sansone and Madeleine Lewis's workouts, both of which are varied, challenging, and fun. This one was just boring. Too much marching, not enough other moves, and Debbie talks SO much. Wow. I mean, maybe she was nervous but she was talking, it seemed, just for the sake of talking.

Was this review helpful?

 
 
Great Way to Get Into Shape April 5, 2008
Reviewer: J. Ludloff "Jax"  
This video and audio cd set are enjoyable, make you sweat and get you into shape. It is the only way to start your day and a great way to end it. It is fun, obtainable and you see results. I have been following along with the dvd 5 days a wk. I have lost 18 lbs. and many inches in my waist, toned my arms and toned my legs. My energy level is up, my outlook on life is much happier and my kids, friends and husband notice how I look and act. Thank you Debbie for making this incredible life changing dvd set. Only 10 more lbs. to go. Its a new me! Everyone, my kids, my friends and my 75 year old mother have become hooked on the dvd.

Was this review helpful?

 
 
Great walking video March 25, 2008
Reviewer: Melissa  
This is a really great exercise video. You get two solid workouts that are easy to follow, work the entire body, and leave you with that "I just did something realy good for myself today" feeling. I only wish it was a little longer. I like to aim for 45 minutes. These two run for about 30 each (including warm-up, work-out, and cooldown/stretching). If you are pressed for time these are for you. Great for beginners too.

Was this review helpful?

 
 
Beautiful Scenery, but Pretty Dull January 1, 2008
Reviewer: B. Simms "Bevpianolady"  
I was an avid step aerobic addict for many years, but a series of bad repetitive-motion injuries forced me to stop just about all types of exercise except walking. I prefer to walk outside, but in Indiana this is often a problem in the winter. Although I like the scenery, and prefer Debbie Rocker's personality, this video is disappointing in two ways. First, there is TOO MUCH MARCHING IN PLACE! I do not understand why instructors use marching as a warm-up or a place for supposed rest or cool-down, when marching in place is very difficult for anyone with repetitive-motion injuries!!! Second, Debbie has made some very basic errors in her cueing. She refers to "left" and "right" without realizing that for the viewer these sides are reversed. Another annoying habit she has is to tell the viewer that we are about to change to a new step, but then take FOREVER to actually make the change. I'll probably use this video on poor-weather days until I find one that is better suited to my needs.

Was this review helpful?

 
 
Just what I wanted. October 1, 2007
Reviewer: Nicola Bernard  
I was after a walking workout with basic choreography and nothing too strenuous that I could use to get me going in the mornings. This DVD was just the shot. On days when I really can't be bothered exercising I will do one of the workouts knowing that it won't take too long, and on days when I feel more energetic I will do both. Warning: the moves are simple and very repetitive. That works for me when I'm tired in the mornings and just want to do some exercise before work without having to think too much, but it may be too boring for a lot of people.

Was this review helpful?

 
 
Very good walking video May 12, 2007
Reviewer: Carlyle Mallory  
Since walking is highly recommended by doctors and exercise gurus, this production by Ms. Rocker provides the exerciser with a 2 well-instructed walks. New exercisers can either follow the full workout in the AM or PM section or the new exercisers can follow the modifications presented. Neither walk is difficult and all exercisers look pleased to be out walking in the beautiful outdoors. Recommended workouts.

Was this review helpful?

 
 
Cashing in on the walking craze January 15, 2007
Reviewer: DJ  
I was really looking forward to trying these new walking workouts - the AM & PM Walking workout really left me disappointed, but maybe it was just me. I really enjoy Leslie Sansone's walking workouts. This one, though, was just a little ...... boring. The AM walk is supposed to be slow, to wake you up and get you going in the morning. Well, I need something a little less repetitive, a little less lethargic, and a lot more energetic, to get me going! The roughly five-minute warmup was simply marching in place with absolutely no variation whatsoever while Debbie talked about how she would be your coach, etc. I finally had to do my own thing - side steps, mambo steps, etc., just because I couldn't wait for her to do something new. The PM walk was slightly better, but only slightly. The scenery, however, was absolutely gorgeous - much better than the movie screen outdoor setting employed by Kathy Smith, and a nice change of pace from the indoor studio-setting walks used by both Leslie.

Was this review helpful?